top of page

Fitness Motivations that AREN'T weight loss


In a culture obsessed with losing weight, it almost seems that it's the unusual thing to not want to. It seems like such a specific number on the scale or a dress size is such a massive motivator for huge amounts of people, but what about for those of us that just want to be healthy? How do we keep ourselves going? Here are some of my ideas.

1. Make a list of all of your reasons, and keep them visible.

If you haven't already, definitely research the benefits of the exercise(s) you're doing and find what applies to you the most. Personally, I've had a few scares with chest pain (nothing serious!) but knowing exactly how much good running does for my heart always acts as a good motivator when I'm not feeling so up to it.

2. Carry on setting goals

Whilst someone's goal might be to weigh xyz lbs, that doesn't mean yours can't be to run x distance in y amount of time or to be able to lift a certain weight by a particular date (small poem there!). I think that challenging yourself and continuing to make improvements can be really motivating.

3. Join a class or have a session

I have to run alone, but for I have different classes for toning and HIIT because I know I probably wouldn't do them without a support network or accountability system. Other people's determination is contagious and, if you're not a team player at all, there's nothing to say you can't make it a secret competition!

These are my top 3 suggestions, but if you have any others, I'd love to hear them! Good luck getting/staying fit and achieving your goals!

Hi, I'm Annabeth!

I'm just a fitness-obsessed foodie. Welcome to my blog!

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Our Community 
bottom of page