top of page

How to Make Nut Milk


I have no idea why I was buying plant-based milks for so long. They're so much easier to make than I thought they would be that it's almost embarrassing! They're easily customisable too, which is always a plus in my book!

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup any nuts (Brazil, cashew, peanut, almond, pistachio, mixed - you can get creative here!)

  • 3-4 cups filtered water, depending on the desired thickness

  • Optional add-ins: vanilla extract, sweetener (like maple syrup or 1-4 dates), cacao powder, cinnamon, ginger etc.

Method:

  1. Place the nuts in a bowl with water (not the water that you're using) and allow to soak overnight with a pinch of salt and dash of lemon juice. You can skip this step if you wish, but the nuts will be slightly harder both to blend and to digest.

  2. If you've soaked the nuts, drain them and rinse thoroughly.

  3. Add to a blender or food processor with the filtered water, pinch of salt and any optional add-ins and turn it on until the nuts are pulverised.

  4. Strain the liquid through a cheese cloth or sieve.

  5. Enjoy your homemade milk! It will separate in the fridge but this is just because it doesn't have any emulsifiers or added nasties - just give it a shake! :)

I know the recipe seems super easy, but there's always room for mistakes (we're only human, of course!) - if you're more sensible than me, you might feel the need to check that your blender lid is on really tight! I don't think I need to mention that this was chaotic to clean up!

If you made the recipe, I'd love to hear how it went for you! Did you add any add-ins or have any kitchen nightmares like I did?

Hi, I'm Annabeth!

I'm just a fitness-obsessed foodie. Welcome to my blog!

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Our Community 
bottom of page