top of page

Healthy Ways to Have Fun This Summer


With the longer days and sunny weather, I have to admit I love summer. Having the school holidays off is a big bonus too! But whilst it's expected (and fun!) to spend the days having BBQs and sunbathing, there are a few alternative healthy activities I thought I'd like to share.

  1. Switch up your BBQ - I recently got a BBQ, and whilst it's traditional to have unhealthy food like burgers and sausages on it, I've had plenty of great evenings without - I found this recipe in a free magazine and it worked a treat! I also like adding sweetcorn, mushrooms, tomatoes, aubergine and peppers.

  2. Go for a walk on the beach - this is always a family favourite! It's also convenient if you have a dog and feel limited in terms of other day trips, as most beaches do allow dogs.

  3. Try your hand at tennis - I'm absolutely terrible at tennis, but playing it is so much fun. If you've not tried it, I'd definitely recommend doing at least once! It's a great laugh amongst friends.

  4. Swimming is a great fitness activity, and also perfect for cooling down.

  5. Hiking is great fun, cheap and can be enjoyed by all sizes of groups - maybe you could also bring your own healthy picnic!

  6. Make healthy summer recipes eg banana nice cream

  7. Playing Frisbee is great when you don't have much space or are budgeting, as it can be done in the garden by all ages. You could even get the dog(s) involved, if you have any!

  8. Shoot some hoops

  9. Have a scavenger hunt - I remember once teaming up with a few other families and each of us doing a treasure map for each other. I can't say I remember what the reward was (or even if there was one), but it was fun all the same! That was a brilliant day out, and completely free as well!

  10. Make fruit water to use up any fruit you don't think will keep. It's brilliantly hydrating and also low calorie, so great if you're watching your weight.

These are my top 10, but I'd love to hear your ideas! What healthy ways do you enjoy having fun over the summer?

Hi, I'm Annabeth!

I'm just a fitness-obsessed foodie. Welcome to my blog!

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Our Community 
bottom of page